## **Professor Mboyo Willy Vangu**

# **Professorial Inaugural Lecture**

# **Title: Current & Future Perspectives on Clinical use of PET/CT Imaging**

# 16th April 2024 Amphiteater 3 at 7 p.m.



Doctor Mboyo Willy Vangu is a Chief Specialist in Nuclear Medicine. He is a Full Professor and Head of Nuclear medicine at the University of the Witwatersrand. He is also the Head of the Department for Radiation Sciences and an Assistant Head of School of Clinical medicine at the Faculty of Health Sciences, University of the Witwatersrand. He has the following academic qualifications: MD, MMed, MSc, PhD. He has numerous publications, conference and workshop proceedings and has presented over hundred scientific abstracts. He received a Certificate on Executive MBA of the University of Nebraska, USA in 2014 and was recently elected a Fellow of the Royal college of Physicians (RCP) of London in 2023. He was the first to introduce and

report on clinical positron emission tomography (PET) imaging in South Africa in 2004.

He was a pioneer nuclear medicine physician to introduce the use of radiolabelled antibodies in lymphoma as well as the "Peptide Receptor Radionuclide Therapy (PRRT)" for neuroendocrine tumours using Indium-111 – DTPA – Octreotide in South Africa in 2003. He was the first to introduce the Gallium-68 generator for specialised imaging with PET/CT in September 2010, to produce in house Ga-68 DOTATATE in Johannesburg, South Africa. He has supervised more than 30 Master degrees and several PhD students. At present, he has trained and supervised the largest number of residents since nuclear medicine has been officially recognised as a speciality in South Africa in 1986. He has been promoting nuclear medicine teaching and education in Africa and internationally.

#### **ALL WELCOME**

# Professor Sabina Dizdarevic MD MSc PhD FRCP Professorial Inaugural Lecture Title: From Unclear to Clear-ABC of Nuclear Medicine



# 17th April 2024 Amphiteater 4 at 6 p.m.

Professor Sabina Dizdarevic is Consultant Nuclear Medicine Physician and Lead Consultant in PET-CT Nuclear Medicine at the University Hospitals Sussex. After her International Atomic Energy Fellowship at University College London, Henri Becquerel fellowship at the Great Ormond Street Hospital and consultant appointment at Guy's and St Thomas' Hospital, she moved to Brighton as Head of Nuclear Medicine in 2003. With colleagues she has established astate-of-the-art nuclear medicine department, including the first PET-CT and therapeutic nuclear medicine services in Sussex. She is the British Nuclear Medicine Society (BNMS) President Elect (May 2024-2025), BNMS Research Chair and will be next BNMS President 2025-2027. She was appointed Professor at University of Sussex and Brighton, Brighton and Sussex Medical School (BSMS) in 2019. Further to her tenure as the Chair of Nuclear Medicine Specialty Joint Committee at the Royal College of Physicians (RCP) she chaired the Intercollegiate Standing Committee on Nuclear Medicine, UK at the Royal College of Radiologists and RCP and is the British Nuclear Medicine Society Research Lead, 2020- April 2024.

She has obtained MD from the University of Sarajevo, MSc in Nuclear Medicine from University College London and her PhD degree from the University of Sussex and Brighton. Her research interest is in novel clinical investigations using radionuclides, including radionuclide theragnostic strategies in oncology (particularly thyroid and prostate cancers), development and translation of molecular imaging biomarkers in nuclear medicine and neuroscience and multimodality functional molecular imaging of ATP-binding-cassette (ABC) transporters. She has a wide range of peer reviewed publications, published 7 book chapters, and is actively involved in numerous prospective research trials as the chief investigator, principal investigator, lead clinical radiation expert or ARSAC license holder, conducted and/or supported more than 150 research projects. She is committed to NM education for all and lead the new National and international online postgraduate course (MSc/PGDip) at BSMS. Under her leadership this has been strengthened not just for NM physicians but also for radionuclide radiologists, NM technologists, radiographers, nurses and scientists.

## **ALL WELCOME**